Windows and Glorious Light

This post consists mostly of pictures, as I actually remembered to take shots of most of the major steps.  Maybe this will help someone…who knows?

Neither window leaks, and for that I am grateful.  I’m OK with using them now instead of the wood windows, and in fact I think they look pretty cool.  They were so easy to install!

I did take the time to CAREFULLY drill holes in the plastic bottom, to allow water to drain more easily, as especially the slanted one could otherwise overflow and start draining into the interior.  Several heavy rains later I can attest to it working. 😀

PicShop-0FD761DACFEB2E2849E277E2DFAB6D31

Cutting the test hole for the window in the loft.

I wasn’t sure where to place the loft window exactly, as originally two very large wood framed windows were going to fill the entire space.  I didn’t want it to be too high so as to hit the trim on the outside, nor too low for esthetic reasons on the inside.  Hence, the exploratory hole and a lot of measuring.

PicShop-45E69930FE9DBDAE5019F85C2A22E8BA

After measuring inside and outside for a good placement, I used my circular saw to cut out the rough opening.

PicShop-CD0E6268EE636683C6B1CE79D1F54D68

View from outside.  The placement is good both inside and out.

The front is so ugly and boring still….

PicShop-0E2852789D5C323FE4F1782EE0ED6976

The RO still needs to be framed. Yeah, I did it backwards.

PicShop-416930DBBA09A1140BFE8170130B2E01 (1)

Framing and flashing is in

PicShop-B76A27FCB5696F35276CAF3291CB5DE2

Loft window installed!

PicShop-0F2DA05B9330E0342B3C84084CCA7ACE

Loft window viewed from the outside

PicShop-D9D485435201FA4B408C6F92A63D2ABF

Janky window trim

PicShop-46DB1859E549A438FFAEEEC99AC28697

Aaaaand, the finished window. Please ignore what’s happening up with the white drip edge.  It was fixed later.

PicShop-510A7BFBA79ED8B72464EA305D3EC5C6

Finished back window from outside. Metal trim is for protection from water, but I’m not sure I like how much of it shows.

So.  Water intrusion is a huge bugaboo for me.  Here in the Pacific Northwest, water gets into simply everything, and then causes rot, rust or mold.  I do NOT want any of those in my new home!  Since I have so very much unused metal flashing, I decided to try to utilize it to keep water on the outside.  The way I installed it, water goes from the roof, down the outside of the flashing, into the window flashing that sticks out, and then out the sides.  Since neither window (nor the door, which I did the same way) leaks, I guess it worked.

The only thing is, there is so much metal above the rear window!  I’m considering cutting some of the left-over T1-11, painting it to match the body, and cover a good portion of the upper metal. I don’t know…anyone have any ideas I can consider?  I don’t want it to be too different from how I did the other window and door. Whaddayathink?

 

2 thoughts on “Windows and Glorious Light

  1. Wow you have done such a great job. At the top of the window where that metal is do you have any pretty scroll metal filigree something that could be put up there? Just screw it in over the metal plate. It might be sort of cute. Only a suggestion. Do you paint? I would put some free flowing flowers around the back and the front. In red of course. That would tie the truck to the house in a nice way but you no doubt would have a ton of ideas on how to bring red into that house on the outside. Tie it together so it looks like it was meant to be. Think about it and let me know what you come up with in your creative mind. You are doing great work keep it up.

  2. Hmmm. I have some gorgeous and really old cast iron flower filegree from my childhood bed frame that could go up there….I didn’t think of that and do want to put them up somewhere…they are very very heavy though. I could paint them red….but they are so heavy. I don’t know. I did want to put some matching red on the outside of the house, but decided to hold off for now given I’m spending so much money just getting it to a functional state.
    Something decorative up there might just be the solution.
    Thanks!
    Parker

Leave a comment